## American Association of University Women East Mesa Branch General Meeting February 7, 2024

**Welcome:** Janice Dill called meeting to order at 1:32PM. New members were introduced and welcomed

Quorum: Elaine Prom established quorum.

**Secretary's Report**: Molly Brenza. Minutes from December and January General meetings sent out to all. Only amendment is to refer to board review of treasurer report rather than approve. Motion to approve minutes by Kay Eakin and seconded by Elaine Prom.

**Treasurer's Report:** Sandy Williamson Balance in checkbook \$9,318.00

**VP Program**: Mary Linnemann Speaker for March General meeting pending at this time.

**Membership**: Elaine Prom Branch membership is now at 71 members. Please check out the East Mesa Branch website and the national AAUW website for information.

## **Committee Reports:**

- Scholarship: Xenia Johnston No special updates at this time.
- Public Policy: Betsy Flaten Several members of this committee attended the Mesa School Board meeting and found it very interesting. National AAUW is sponsoring webinar tonight on how to participate in school board meetings. Three members from our branch will attend Legislative Day which will focus on women's health. There will be a Spring Forum which will focus on education. All invited to attend Public Policy/ DEI on Monday February 12 at 3PM at Rec 3.

**Author/Scholar Luncheon update:** Janice Dill Please get your tickets at the Rec Office for March 2, 2024. Several volunteers are needed to assist with set up.

## **New Business:**

- **Upcoming National AAUW vote**: Please check out website and place your vote regarding change in by laws for membership.
- Nominating Committee: Sandra Lackore

Committee consists of Sandra Lackore, Doreen Nystedt and Sharon McGavick. The following names are put forth:

President—Janice Dill 2nd year of two year term

Program VP—Mary Linnemann. 2nd year of second two year term

Membership VP—Elaine Prom. 1st year of second two year term

Treasurer
Secretary—Molly Brenza 2nd year of two year term
Scholarship Chair—Xenia Johnston. 2nd year of two year term
Scholarship Chair Elect—Sandra Williamson 1st year

The opening for treasurer remains open. Please consider this position. There were no nominations from the floor. The Bylaws provide for an election in March and installation in April. The Nominating Committee requests that if a treasurer is found and is willing to serve that name be shared with the members so that an election could be completed in March. Motion to accept by Kay Eakin and approved by all. Motion carried.

- 501c3 Organizations for Donation: Flyer distributed for recommendation of organizations by members
- We Made History Project: State AAUW seeking stories about women helping women. Janice Dill suggested referring this to Remanence Writing special interest group.
- **New Member Gathering**: Janice Dill. This is tentatively scheduled for Saturday, February 24.

Next General Meeting: Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Meeting adjourned at 2:25 PM.

Program after meeting by Lily Hsueh past recipient of National AAUW fellowship. She is an Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs, Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions, ASU